National Emergency Number Association ON Inc. – Award Winners

Memorial President's Award

The NENA Ontario Chapter has established the Memorial President’s Award In memory of Chapter President Peter Gallant, who passed away in 2010.  This award will be presented annually at the NENA Ontario Conference to the nominee who exemplifies the qualities and love of their job in emergency services that were exhibited by Peter throughout his lifetime.

We are currently accepting nominations for the 2020 Memorial President's Award. Completed nomination forms must be received by no later than August 1, 2020.

The NENA Ontario Chapter Board of Directors Memorial Presidents Award 2020 (download form)

Larry Breen & 2017 Peter Gallant Memorial Award Winner Terri Coe

2017 Memorial President's Award Recipient: Terri Coe - Ontario Provincial Police (OPP)

2015 Memorial President's Award Recipient: Krista Neilson - Niagara Regional Police Service

This year’s winner is Krista Neilson from Niagara Regional Police Service. The nomination was received from Robin Johnstone, Training Coordinator also of NRPS. Krista has been with NRPS for 12 years starting as a Communicator and recently taking on the responsibility of Platoon Training Officer.  Congratulations Krista!

2014 Memorial Presidents Award Recipient: Karen Dmytryshyn - Toronto Police Service

Karen Dmytryshyn joined the Metropolitan Toronto Police Force in 1982 as a call taker/dispatcher. In 1991 Karen was promoted to the Supervisor Tape Analysis. She is also a Commissioner of Oaths. In 2008, Karen was again promoted this time to Coordinator, Voice Radio Systems. She is a model employee, great supervisor, natural born leader and is respected by all.  Congratulations

2013 Memorial President's Award Recipient: Angela Weber - Guelph Fire Department

Angela Weber has been a call taker / dispatcher with the Guelph Fire Department for 8 years. Angela worked a total of 9 years with Orangeville Police, Cambridge CACC and OPP (Mount Forest Communication Centre). All of these jobs involved call taking / dispatching. She is passionate about her chosen profession and is someone her peers and the public can depend upon. Congratulations Angela. Presenting the award are past NENA Ontario President Larry Breen (left) and current President Linda Dickson (right).

2012 Memorial Presidents Award Recipient: Lisa Nash - Durham Regional Police Service

This year's winner is Lisa Nash from Durham Regional Police Service. The nomination was submitted by Sue Knox also of DRPS. Lisa has been a member of DRPS communications for 26 years. She started as a communicator, moving on to assistant supervisor and communications supervisor. Lisa is currently filling the role of Communications Training Coordinator. Congratulations Lisa.

2011 Memorial President's Award Recipients: Amy MacNeil & Julie Crispo - Peel Regional Police Service

Amy MacNeill and Julie Crispo, from Peel Regional Police are the 2011 recipients of the Memorial President's Award. The nomination was submitted by Grace Kempers also of Peel Regional Police. Julie has been an employee of PRPD for 11 years and has been with the organization for 6 years. Congratulations to both of you.

2010 Memorial President's Award Recipient: Laura Phillips - Guelph Police Service

Laura Phillips is with Guelph Police Services and is a Communications Trainer. Her nomination was submitted to the NENA Ontario executive by Sgt. Ron Lord, Communications Supervisor Guelph Police Service. Laura is in her 24th year at Guelph Police and is the very first recipient of the NENA Ontario Chapter Board of Directors’ Memorial Presidents Award that will be presented annually in the memory of Peter Gallant.

Laura Phillips (middle), Larry Breen, NENA Ontario President (left), and Diane Gallant (right). Congratulations Laura.

2009 International Association Women Police - Civilian Achievement Award

In september of 2009 Judy Broomfield of the Toronto Police Services was presented with the Civilian Achievement Award by the International Association of Women Police. An excerpt from Mylan M. Masson, the Awards Committee Chair states,
"I am honored to inform you that Ms. Judy Broomfield has been selected for the Civilian Achievement Award for the 2009 International Association of Women Police.  Her accomplishments and dedication to law enforcement are a credit to your department.  She stands as an exemplary representative and positive role model to women."

Congratulations Judy from all of us at NENA Ontario.

National Emergency Number Assocaition ON Inc. Hall of Fame Award Winners

2010 Hall of Fame Award Winner

Winner Sheryl MacPhail (York Regional Police, 2nd from right)
Presented by from left: Larry Breen (NENA Ontario Chapter President), Kim Bastin (NENA Ontario 1st VP), and Linda Dickson (NENA Ontario 2nd VP)

2007 Hall of Fame Award Winner

Mike Gottlieb presenting. Standing behind from left to right, Rick Galway (Canadian Director), Deanna Tuck (Founding member of NENA Ontario), and Ron Bonneau (NENA National NorthEastern Director

2007 Hall of Fame Award Winner

Deanna Tuck (retired), Rick Galway (Canadian Director), Award Recipient John Farley (Windsor PD), Award Recipient Holly Barkwell-Holland (BH Group Inc.), and Ron Bonneau (NENA National 2nd VP)